Ocean Station Network

The Marine ICOS observation network are based on Voluntary Observing Ships (VOS), Fixed Ocean Stations (FOS), and Marine Flux Towers (MFT). We are also working towards getting Repeat Ocean Stations (ROS) accepted as a fully integrated station type so that we can achieve optimal monitoring. Experimental versions of this network have been tested during the EU-funded CARBOOCEAN project and FixO3.

Marine ICOS provides the coordination and support required to expand and maintain the network at the required level in the long-term. This requires the liaison of the different national groups within marine ICOS and work with the shipping industry to identify and agree access to ships and routes. The support of the shipping industry is a major factor in this work as they supply ship time worth many millions of euros if the work had to be done by research ships. Effective knowledge exchange with the shipping industry is achieved through the ICOS Ocean Thematic Centre.

The marine ICOS (ocean MSA) observational network currently builds on the lines and stations in the table below. The latest updates to this table, as well as more information on each line and stations, can be found at the Carbon Portals Station Labelling page.  OTC encourage other station owners and PIs to join marine ICOS. Information on how to become a member can be found here.


Platform Name

Principal Investigator(s)


Fixed Ocean Stations
  Cape Verde Ocean Observatory Arne Körtzinger; Björn Fiedler; Johannes Karstensen; Tobias Steinhoff Germany
  E2M3A Vanessa Cardin Italy
  Hausgarten Thomas Soltwedel Germany
  Miramare Michele Giani Italy
  North Sea Data and Monitoring Time Series Station Thanos Gkritzalis Belgium
  Piattaforma Avanzata LabOratorio Mare Adriatico Anna Luchetta Italy
  Porcupine Abyssal Plain Susan Hartman UK
  Western 1 Mediterranean Moored Multi-sensor Array  Roberto Bozzano Italy
  Western Channel Observatory Phillip Nightingale; Vassilis Kitidis; Ian Brown; Helen Findlay; Amanda Beesley UK
Marine Flux Towers    
  Östergarnsholm Anna Rutgersson Sweden
Voluntary Observing Ships    
  Baltic Voluntary Observing Ship Gregor Rehder; Michael Glockzin; Bernd Sadkowiak Germany
  Belgica Lieven Naudts Belgium
  France-Brazil Voluntary Observing Ship Nathalie Lefèvre France
  G.O. Sars Ingunn Skjelvan Norway
  Lance Agneta Fransson Norway
  North Atlantic Voluntary Observing Ship Arne Körtzinger; Tobias Steinhoff Germany
  Nuka Arctica Are Olsen Norway
  Polarstern Mario Hoppema; Steven van Heuven Germany
  Simon Stevin Thanos Gkritzalis Belgium
  UK Caribbean Andy Watson; Ute Schuster UK
  Trans Carrier Abdirahman Omar, Ingunn Skjelvan, Sigve Naustdal, Tor de Lange Norway


                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           Last updated: 2018-08-29